Stony Creek Ruins

In rural Caswell County, North Carolina, I found this amazing old abandoned house. Though the roof had been blown off, most of the sagging exterior and interior structure remains intact. As I approached the old home through a field of knee high grass, I noticing a turkey vulture atop one of the dual chimneys. Nice!

Stony Creek Ruins 2
Stony Creek Ruins 2

You know it, an adrenaline pumping vibe when you’re lucky enough to be in the right place at the right time. I shot several views as I slowly approached, when suddenly a second turkey vulture stopped in for a visit. They were soon bored with me, perhaps didn’t like being photographed, and flew off.

Stony Creek Ruins Turkey Vultures
Stony Creek Ruins Turkey Vultures

I continued my photo study, mining as much gold as I could. The sagging framing and siding where visually quite impressive. At the end of my urbex adventure, I came away with a nice set of compositions and only a few chigger (bug) bites.

Stony Creek Ruins Side View
Stony Creek Ruins Side View
Stony Creek Ruins Side View Detail Monochrome
Stony Creek Ruins Side View Detail Monochrome
Stony Creek Ruins Rearview 1
Stony Creek Ruins Rearview 1
Stony Creek Ruins Front Door Detail
Stony Creek Ruins Front Door Detail

Thank you for stopping by. For the best viewing experience, click on an image to view a high resolution version from my Stony Creek Ruins gallery.

Cheers,

C. S.

6 thoughts on “Stony Creek Ruins

Please share your thoughts & comments