Canoe Paddle Composition, Styling Study

Canoe Paddle Composition Black and White
Canoe Paddle Composition Black and White

This paddle composition has been on my backlog for a several months.  I finally got around to working on it earlier this week.  As I started my typical workflow, I had a black and white treatment in mind.  The white balanced color view didn’t seem to offer as much, so I also tried a vintage Kodachrome emulation treatment with Alien Skin’s Exposure 7 and liked the results.  Some additional tweaking in Filter Forge resulted in the image below.

Primary Colors Canoe Paddle Composition
Primary Colors Canoe Paddle Composition

I decided to also try a mashup of the color image with a sepia treatment.  I’ve used variations of this approach several times in the past.  In this treatment, I allowed a little more color in the paddles.  It’s a cool effect, but is comparably a little flatter image.

Canoe Paddle Composition Sepia and Vintage Kodachrome
Canoe Paddle Composition Sepia and Vintage Kodachrome

I like the black and white, but am leaning towards the color, because of its rustic feel and bolder primary colors.  If you have a preference, please let me know.  For the best viewing experience, click and image for a high resolution version.  Thanks for stopping by today!

Cheers,

C. S.

17 thoughts on “Canoe Paddle Composition, Styling Study

Please share your thoughts & comments

