July Winston-Salem Gallery Hop, With Profoto B2 Kit Pt 1, 6 pics

July Winston-Salem Gallery Hop-Banjo Player
July Winston-Salem Gallery Hop-Banjo Player

Thanks to philanthropy from former local titans of tobacco and textile industries, Winston-Salem has become known as the City of the Arts.  A thriving Arts Council, Southeastern Center for Contemporary Art (SECA), Sawtooth Gallery and Reynolda House Museum of American Art are some of the best know art entities in the city.  One of the many facets of community art in the DADA 1st Friday Gallery Hop.

July Winston-Salem Gallery Hop-Bass Player
July Winston-Salem Gallery Hop-Bass Player

The Downtown Arts District Association (DADA) is a non-profit community organization of visual and performing artisans, businesses, galleries and residents.  Centered in an area of urban renewal along Liberty, Sixth and N. Trade Streets in downtown Winston-Salem, the area includes a variety of artist studios, galleries, specialty shops, restaurants, bars and residencies.

July Winston-Salem Gallery Hop-Street Artist 1
July Winston-Salem Gallery Hop-Street Artist 1

Back in June, I was fortunate to be able to purchase a Profoto B2 Location Kit and accessories.  The July 7th Gallery Hop was my first opportunity to try new kit on the street.  The lightweight DC battery pack hung nicely on my hip, I held the 250W strobe head with a 2’ octa softbox on a boom pole in my left hand.

July Winston-Salem Gallery Hop-African Drums 1
July Winston-Salem Gallery Hop-African Drums 1

The early evening setting sun provided a nice back light on my initial shots, but quickly set behind the buildings.  I used the Profoto’s high speed sync (HSS) to shoot the initial batch around 1/320 sec at ISO 500.  The Nikon wireless TTL transmitter and camera made exposure almost effortless, allowing me to concentrate more on the subjects.  I wave very pleased with the results and look forward to my next opportunity to shoot in the street!

July Winston-Salem Gallery Hop-Margaret Webster-Shapiro
July Winston-Salem Gallery Hop-Margaret Webster-Shapiro

I was also able to hangout with my Margaret Webster-Shapiro, a fellow member of the the Associated Artists of Winston-Salem (AAWS), and my good friend and photographer Owens Daniels.  Owens, also a member of AAWS, was displaying several of his pieces at the Artworks Gallery.

July Winston-Salem Gallery Hop-Owens Daniels
July Winston-Salem Gallery Hop-Owens Daniels

Thanks for stopping by!  I have a few more pictures from the Gallery Hop to post later in the week.

Cheers!

C. S.

11 thoughts on “July Winston-Salem Gallery Hop, With Profoto B2 Kit Pt 1, 6 pics

  1. Kids are amazing how they can contort their bodies and seem very comfortable. The shot of the drummer is also very cool. But Owens wins my vote as the coolest dude here. What a smile! Great job!

    Like

    1. Thanks Denise, that one is my fav too. Home to run into the mom again so I exchange a print for model release. Owens and I are scheduled to cover some local back roads early one Sat in Aug.

      Like

Please share your thoughts & comments

