2016 Lost & Found II, Color or BW?

I can’t seem to make up my mind on the best approach for this abandoned house on Hwy 158 near Belews Creek, NC.  Color or Black & White?  After basic image enhancements in Lightroom and Photoshop, the color version was processed in Alien Skin’s Exposure 7 to emulate vintage 1960 Kodachrome 25 slide film tonality.  I use this treatment for a lot of my abandoned/urbex color compositions.

Belews Creek Abandoned Home Composition 1_Color
Belews Creek Abandoned Home Composition 1_Color
The black & white version was also processes in Exposure 7, but this time to emulate Agfa APX 100 b&w film.  Again, my b&w go to for an extra dash of contrast and addition of old school analog grain.  As much silver and chemical I literally had my hands in during the 70’s and 80’s, I appreciate the accuracy of Alien Skin’s emulations.  In the future, when I’m breaking even with my photography, I may give film and photo-paper enlargements another go.  For now, I just don’t have the time.

Belews Creek Abandoned Home Composition 1_B&W
Belews Creek Abandoned Home Composition 1_B&W
So, which do you like best, color or b&w?  You can also click on an image to see a higher resolution version from my portfolio site.  I appreciate your feedback.

Season’s Greetings!

34 thoughts on “2016 Lost & Found II, Color or BW?

  1. The contrast of the roof against that sky, the vibrant bricks with dead branches trying to take over, the variations of weathered paint, and that still painted window frame against a bare wood wall. Yeah, it’s the color version for me!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Color. I like how the red sets off against the white siding and how they both are set against the blue sky. The b&w photo’s elements run together to much for my liking, perhaps another edit so that elements appear more distinct.

    Liked by 2 people

Please share your thoughts & comments

