Plant 64 Birdland

Leaving work a few months ago, I noticed a large flock of birds occupying a nearby water tower.  With the sun setting and rather dramatic clouds behind the tower, I wished I had my Nikon full frame camera.  Then I thought, hey, in my pocket I have a decent camera on my Samsung S5.

Plant 64 Birdland
Plant 64 Birdland

I ended up spending just as much time working on this image as I typical do on shots from my Nikon; including an emulation of Kodak Ektachrome slide film to get some fine grain structure and extra color punch. Perhaps I’ve been a bit of a snob regarding the ability of a mobile phone to capture a worthy image.  I once heard another photographer say “the best camera is the one you have on you”.

4 thoughts on “Plant 64 Birdland

Please share your thoughts & comments

