Twin City Motor Company Building Part 1, 2 pics

Back in April, this old building in downtown Winston-Salem caught my eye. I returned late in the day to capture it’s hard, weathered lines and rustic textures, all accentuated by the waning afternoon sun.  Last week I finally got around to considering these images for further development.  Currently a downtown garage, I also became interested in learning about the building’s history.   Before work on Monday, I stopped by and met the owner Mr. Ferguson.  A nice gentlemen, he shared the building was built in the 1920’s and had been an assembly plant for Ford Model T’s.  After that conversation, my interest became more of an obsession.

Twin City Motors Building Abstract 1
Twin City Motor Company Building Abstract 1

After hours of research, I learned the building was built in 1925 and became the new home for the Twin City Motor Company – a local Ford dealership. I suspect old photos of the building led Mr. Ferguson’s to believe it had been an assembly plant.   I plan to follow up with him later to confirm my findings.  The building became part of the Downtown North Historical District in 2002.  Considering all the renovation going on downtown, I wouldn’t be surprised if the building becomes a future candidate for conversion to residential space.  That may or may not sit well with Mr. Ferguson.

Twin City Motors Building Abstract 2
Twin City Motor Company Building Abstract 2

Thanks for stopping by today! Click on an image to see a higher resolution version on my portfolio site.

2 thoughts on “Twin City Motor Company Building Part 1, 2 pics

  1. A conversion to residential space wouldn’t sit well with me, either. I love these old buildings and feel they should all be preserved. If the property they sit on becomes too valuable, they should be moved, but never destroyed. We have a place that does just this about an hour outside of Las Vegas called Nelson. My favorite place to shoot.

    Like

Please share your thoughts & comments

