Back Road Find

Traveling to the beach this summer, I took the back roads for the last leg of our trip in hopes of finding some interesting photo ops.  I was particularly interested in capturing the character of old small town buildings & structures.  Following Highway 904 along the North Carolina, South Carolina border, I was finally rewarded when we reached Tabor City.

Tabor City Wall Composition
Tabor City Wall Composition

While turning a corner downtown, the side of Mama’s Restaurant caught my eye.  I knew this was the opportunity I was looking for.  The old plaster breaking away from older brick provided great textural contrast and subject matter.  The old “retro”exhaust fan was a particularly interesting subject.  As mentioned on my portfolio site, commercial properties seem to be more susceptible to neglect & decay.  Ironically though, the facade of Mama’s Restaurant has been restored and is well kept.  I suspect there were several business that came and went long before Mama’s.  These images have been added to my Commercial and Industrial Decay Gallery.

Exhaust Fan & Wall Composition
Exhaust Fan & Wall Composition

Continuing the workflow used for the images in my previous post, I further refined the composite of layers by adding a subtle black outline layer above the painted effect layer.  The base layer photo was processed to emulate Kodachrome 25 slide film.  I’m also increasing the size of my images from 600 px on the long edge to 700.  This should help folks see a little more detail.  Of course, to see a higher resolution image, you can click on the image.  If you’re new to WordPress, you can like this post by clicking on the post date below the title.  You should see a “Like” button at the bottom of the post.  I hope you enjoy and would love to also hear your thoughts and comments.

Tabor City Window Composition
Tabor City Window Composition
6 thoughts on “Back Road Find

  1. Beautiful sharp colours & textures. The Industrial Decay images blend the organic abstract that occurs over time with man made imposed order. What appears to be chaos is actually a transition from one type of order to another. Perfectly captured in these compositions.

    Thanks again for visiting my Dark pines photo blog. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Joseph, I appreciate your comments. Yea, it’s very cool to relate to someone on this topic. Honestly, I expect there is much more for me to learn about these opposing, yet some times harmonious forces.

      Like

  2. Beautiful images. I really love the last one, with the (what seems like) late afternoon slant and the deep red brick pattern. You capture a wonderful sense of atmosphere.

    Like

    1. Thank you for sharing your kind & thoughtful comment. Yes, it was late afternoon, I was afraid I would lose the sun before finding something to photograph. The late and early sun is certainly transformative!

      Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts & comments

