The First Post: Jordan Farm

This inaugural post introduces my fine art photography blog. To start things out, I thought my recent visit to Jordan Farms in High Point, NC (my hometown) would be a nice place to begin. Like many vanishing farm homesteads, Jordan Farm represents an opportunity for the photographer to document the agricultural tradition and way of life while presenting to the viewer visually interesting & meaningful imagery.

My first image is a barn facade in the large farm complex.

West Facade Jordan Barn
West Facade of Jordan Barn

I worked with the image in Lightroom to find the right contrast settings to emphasize the white facade while preserving visual interest elsewhere in the composition. As I’ll discuss more in future posts I love to use Alien Skin Exposure software to add some old school warmth to my imagery. I would love to hear your thought and feedback about my work. Also, please visit my portfolio site at csyjr.photoshelter.com.  Hope you enjoy!

2 thoughts on “The First Post: Jordan Farm

  1. Hey, I read myself through your blog- or at least had a look at the pictures you published – and all I saw was wonderful! I like your way to picture industrial sides and decay – there is always some living dimension in it and the sites somehow look so aesthetically pleasing, that they look even better than the supposed original state…
    Thanks for stopping by at my blog- otherwise I might have never found yours 😉
    Cheers, Mary

    Like

    1. Hey Mary, nice meeting you! I appreciate you taking time to leave such a thoughtful comment. Yep, there are a lot of different things going on in abandonment images. I keep coming back to it as a subject. Looking forward to seeing more of your work!

      Liked by 1 person

Please share your thoughts & comments

